UNESCO is a specialised agency that aims to foster creativity and culture at a local and international level

Wellington was named a Creative City of Film by the United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) in November 2019. This adds Wellington to the Creative Cities Network (UCCN).

Launched in 2004, the UCCN was created to promote co-operation with and among cities that have identified creativity as a strategic factor for sustainable urban development.

The 246 member cities work together towards a common objective – to place creativity and cultural industries at the heart of their development plans at a local level and co-operate actively at international level.

The network covers seven creative fields, including crafts and folk art, design, film, gastronomy, literature, music and media arts.

Wellington is hugely proud to be one of just 18 members in the UNESCO City of Film network. The members are:

Bitola, Macedonia | Bradford, United Kingdom | Bristol, United Kingdom | Busan, South Korea | Galway, Republic of Ireland | Lodz, Poland | Mumbai, India | Potsdam, Germany | Qingdao, China | Rome, Italy | Santos, Brazil | Sarajevo, Bosnia | Sofia, Bulgaria | Sydney, Australia | Terrassa, Spain | Valladolid, Spain | Wellington, New Zealand | Yamagata, Japan


Learn more about the Cities of Film